h1

An Aussie, Reminiscing

March 25, 2008
Midnight Oil – “Blue Sky Mine”

My gut is wrenched out it is crunched up and broken
A life that is led is no more than a token
Who’ll strike the flint upon the stone and tell me why
If I yell out at night there’s a reply of bruised silence
The screen is no comfort I can’t speak my sentence
They blew the lights at heaven’s gate and I don’t know why

But if I work all day at the blue sky mine
(There’ll be food on the table tonight)
Still I walk up and down on the blue sky mine
(There’ll be pay in your pocket tonight)

(Lyrics excerpt from http://www.songmeanings.net/lyric.php?lid=116207.)
Songs that take me straight back to my childhood… Nothing like a hefty dose of Aussie rock. In this case, political social action rock.
Between the 1970s through to early 2000s, Midnight Oil had a number of popular albums. True to the political nature and social conscience of the band, their singer Peter Garrett is currently a member of Parliament with the Australian Labor Party, and is the Minister for Environment, Heritage and the Arts.
Leave a Reply

