h1

Christmas #7 – Noah

December 1, 2008

As we look at the Bible and Christmas, I felt it might be useful to look into the amazing lives of some Biblical characters. These were individuals who, at various points in history, lived their lives for God.

What I love is that the Bible records both the successes and failings of God’s people. There is no pretence, no putting on a front. God’s people both triumph and fail – but He works through them, anyway.

Genesis 9:1-17 (KJV)
And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth. And the fear of you and the dread of you shall be upon every beast of the earth, and upon every fowl of the air, upon all that moveth upon the earth, and upon all the fishes of the sea; into your hand are they delivered. Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things. But flesh with the life thereof, which is the blood thereof, shall ye not eat. And surely your blood of your lives will I require; at the hand of every beast will I require it, and at the hand of man; at the hand of every man’s brother will I require the life of man. Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man. And you, be ye fruitful, and multiply; bring forth abundantly in the earth, and multiply therein.

And God spake unto Noah, and to his sons with him, saying, And I, behold, I establish my covenant with you, and with your seed after you; And with every living creature that is with you, of the fowl, of the cattle, and of every beast of the earth with you; from all that go out of the ark, to every beast of the earth. And I will establish my covenant with you; neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth. And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud: And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh. And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth. And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

In the book of Genesis, we learn the remarkable story of Noah and a great Flood that destroys all creatures on the land. What had happened was the humanity was very quickly sliding into outright disobedience to the Creator. Yet, there was one Godly family – Noah, with his wife and their sons and their wives, undertook the task of obedience to God. So, they built a great Ark that would hold pairs of each main type of land animal. When the great Flood came and covered the whole surface of the Earth, the Ark carried these remaining humans and creatures in safety.

Yet it was God who sustained them. There was no steering wheel on this ship. While Noah had to build the Ark, it was God who brougt the animals, it was God who sealed the Ark’s door shut, and it was God who protected and sustained the life upon the Ark while all the world was destroyed by the Deluge.

And, at the end, when they had safely landed, God made provision for generations to come. Now, they were given the meat of animals to consume – providing they did not consume blood. (Here’s that theme of shed blood, again!) As a vegetarian, I have taken quite a lot of notice of this passage. I imagine that, after the Flood, the plant foods that normally sustained human life would have been largely washed away. Also, due to the probably massive changes in climate, perhaps plants would not grow so well anymore. Who knows!?

God promised to preserve and sustain the world. He will not abandon His creation, even if His creation abandons Him.

The Bible teaches us that all humanity – regardless of current location, skin colour, language, history – are descended from Noah. How amazing is it to view the evils of the world in this light. We are one humanity, one blood. There are no races (something that I was taught in my secular sociology course on ethnicity, so that’s not just a Bible-based idea, others have noticed it too!).

From the Answers In Genesis website.

From the Answers In Genesis website.

Christmas is perhaps the greatest way that God has shown He won’t abandon His creation. Whenever we see a rainbow we are reminded that the world will not be destroyed again by a Flood. And when we celebrate Christmas, we are reminded that it is God who does the work of salvation. Jesus paid the price for my sin through His death on Cross. I don’t do the work, it’s Him. I just have to trust that He’ll carry me through the storms.

==

Further reading by people who believe in the global Flood as described in Genesis:

“Why Christians should believe in a global flood,” 1998, Dr H. Morris, http://www.icr.org/article/842/ (accessed 28 September 2008).

“Problem with a global flood,” http://www.trueorigin.org/arkdefen.asp (accessed 28 September 2008).

Noah’s Flood questions and answers – http://creationontheweb.com/content/view/3000/ (accessed 28 September 2008).

“Biblical Chronology,” 2005, Dr Tas Walker, http://biblicalgeology.net/Model/Biblical-Chronology.html (accessed 28 September 2008).

2 comments

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onChristmas #7 – Noah « The AmalgamationHere’s a quick excerptAs we look at the Bible and Christmas, I felt it might be useful to look into the amazing lives of some Biblical characters. These were individuals who, at various points in history, lived their lives for God. … […]


  2. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onChristmas #7 – Noah « The AmalgamationHere’s a quick excerptAnd God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me … […]



Comments are closed.

