h1

Following Jesus

September 12, 2009

As I write, it helps me negotiate, in a sense, my understanding and beliefs. It’s a way of personally reasoning through my thoughts and ideas. Recently it’s been an intersting exercise engaging in online discussion about life, the universe and everything on Facebook.Com with friends and family from my local Church community.

It occured to me that I haven’t actually written a whole lot about my Christian faith on my blog. So, while I do intend to keep the key purpose of this blog as a means of sharing my art folio, I really do want to include a bit more specifically on the topic of life, the universe and everything – from the perspective of being a follower of Jesus.

I don’t intend to address controversies, denominational debates, or any huge issues here. I would like to stick to the topic of just what it means to follow Jesus. I have provided plenty of links* elsewhere on this blog to sites that do deal with the more ‘controversial’ issues of Christianity. Readers are encouraged to visit those sites to learn about possible Christian responses to various issues and concerns.

I hope to keep it simple – to keep the focus on Jesus and the Bible and how I seek to apply His Word to my day-to-day life. Hopefully it will serve as an encouragement to my readers who are also believers; and that, for those of you who do not share my faith, it mght spark your interest in learning more about who Jesus is and what He teaches us today.

For those of you who are reading and wondering what my ‘qualifications’ are, I have been a volunteer leader for about four years in my local Pentecostal-style non-denominational Christian church. I spent one year involved in, and eventually leading a hospitality team that looked after new visitors to a youth programme for high school students. I spent almost three years running a small home group for senior high school girls. The last year has been involved in co-leading a small group for young adults aged 18-25 years, most of whom are newlyweds. For a convenient summary statement of faith to which I ascribe, see http://www.citylifechurch.com/info/statementoffaith.aspx, or read The Foundations of Christian Doctrine (1980) by Kevin J. Conner

* See the Links Page or the Weblinks Category for more links.

Following Jesus

 

5 comments

  1. The first post on this topic will be on Monday, 14 September, 2009.


  2. Hi, thank you for deciding to write about what it means to you to be a christian. I am a relative newby to the whole thing. I have been a christian for around 6 months. I am still basking in the love that I have uncovered and felt a lot of that while reading your words. I have my own website which has actually been on hold since I became a Christian, largely because becoming was a Christian was so massive a change internally that I wanted to talk about it incessantly but at the same time I was scared about what people would think. I am past that point now but still find it difficult to approach the topic. I will get around to it though at some point. Anyway I just wanted to say thanks and stay blessed! Andy


  3. Hi Andy.

    Wow, thanks for your interesting comments and encouragement! I jumped across to have a look at your site – wow, you have some great art there.

    One thing I struggled with as a new believer was how to incorporate my art into my faith – and I actually stopped painting and drawing for close to a year while I tried to work my way through that. My particular Christian community has a particular leaning towards theological teaching and worship music – so I felt a bit lost as someone who loves writing and art! These days a lot of photographers are emerging in my local church, so at least we connect there!

    It’s true, there is a desire to talk about it incessantly. It is such an amazing, profound transformation – and it is hard to comprehend why other people ‘don’t get it’!

    Thanks for sharing, it is really great communicating with fellow believers. Feel free to visit here again, especially if you have any questions! I might be able to help you find further info.

    For new believers in my own church, I always recommend a few key points, which might be relevant to your own stage –

    – pray and read the Bible, in a translation that is meaningful to you (especially the Bible – it’s easy to get distracted reading a whole lot of Christian books that don’t necessarily make one a better Christian!)
    – stay committed to a local Christian church community (assuming they’re not heretics! 😀 )
    – invest in a decent study Bible, a concordance and a Bible languages dictionary (I use the NIV/AMP/NASB/KJV parallel Bible, the NIV Study Bible, Strong’s Concordance, and Vine’s Dictionary, Baker’s Topical Guide to the Bible and Baker’s Theological Dictionary – many of which can be accessed at the website http://www.biblestudytools.com/)

    And the recommended reading, after the Bible:
    In Six Days by John F. Ashton
    The Case For Christ by Lee Strobel
    The Jesus I Never Knew by Philip Yancey
    The Foundations of Christian Doctrine by Kevin J. Conner
    The Bait of Satan by John Bevere
    Waking the Dead by John Eldredge

    Useful websites:
    http://creation.com/
    http://www.icr.org/
    http://leaderu.com/menus/arts.html
    http://koorong.com/
    http://word.com.au/

    I hope that at least some of this proves useful to you!


  4. it’s sweet, simple, to the point, and essential: what does it mean to follow Jesus? i’ll be exploring your blog to see what else stirs in your thoughts and what comes to the surface about the amazing and wonderful journey we can be on as followers of His!


  5. Thank you for visiting and having a look at what I have to offer!



Leave a Reply

