h1

Evening song of the blackbird

May 12, 2010

Ink fineliner and pencil on paper, October 2009.

One of my favourite times of day is the evening, when the blackbirds sit on the fence outside my kitchen window and sing their last songs for the day. We get bats arround here and they look fantastic, flying their way past the Moon in black clumsy silhouettes.

While I generally dislike the whole suburban living thing, there is something lovely about evenings, when the birds sing and the streetlights switch on, and I can hear people out walking their dogs and the scent of dinners wafting through the windows. It’s not all bad. This drawing is one of my many attempts to capture how I feel about this aspect of life in the suburbs.

I used pencil shavings to colour the illustration. I shave bits of the coloured pencil lead and smudge them into the paper. I feel it creates a smoother textured and better blended image than if I just used the pencils the normal way. This little trick was something I learnt at school many years ago, when I was about 8 years old. I haven’t forgotten it, and enjoy using it.

See more: http://flokot.redbubble.com/sets/107560/works/3906816-4-blackbirds-last-song-of-the-evening

4 comments

  1. I remember doing that at primary school…:-)


  2. Oh funny! Yes, I think it’s great fun… if a bit messy! 🙂


  3. Well done, drawing. Looks like nice place to live.


  4. Thank you! It’s definitely an idealised interpretation! 😀



Leave a Reply

