h1

Article: Churches Adopt Adoption

July 8, 2010

I just read this article in Christianity Today, “Churches Adopt Adoption“. It’s such an exciting thought that people are seeking positive change to impact the lives children. How heartbreaking, then, was the thought of an adoptive mother putting her 8 year old boy on a plane because she, quote, “I no longer wish to parent this child.” As the mother of an 8 year old, I can’t even imagine what hardship a mother would have gone through to feel that the only solution would be to send her little boy on a plane back to his home country. However, at the risk of saying too much on a topic I don’t know enough about, I’ll just leave it at that.

Here’s the link: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2010/july/11.23.html?start=1

3 comments

  1. I see what you’re saying but sadly she is probably listening to all the current trend in thinking that a child is better in poverty with their identity and culture intact than to live here is Australia away from that.
    My problem, on the same level we are considering not taking kids from their abusive family home into care. Sadly people miss the point and live in fairy land…these kids would usually end up dead, we view the outcome from comfortable, health supported Australia and truly, I admire anyone who has taken this journey, these kids are breathing becuase of the love and sacrifice of a parent. Too easy to judge from the sidelines and comment on a socio-political level which each life is very indiviual in it’s circumstances.
    I think those who have adopted an are adopted can debates this, others of us need to first understand.I think understanding a persons heart from a tag lin quote is impossible.
    I think kids alive and struggling with identity are better than early funerals.


  2. oh, and I include you with me on the understanding front, I was commenting on the debate rather than your comments…hope that’s clear as mud


  3. Hey hey,

    yeah I’ve heard of that – that cultural identity in a sense overrides other concerns, such as having family and basic physical needs met.

    I have heard that in Australia there is a lack of foster families, and it is something I keep in the back of my mind. I know a few adopted people who have articulated their gratitude for the way their life turned out. A Korean girl, who was raised by Aussie parents, once told me (about 10 years ago), that she hoped to one day adopt because she was so glad she’d had the opportunity to grow up in Australia.

    And yeah, I know nothing about it except from second hand information so I am hesitant to put forward any view!



Leave a Reply

