h1

Thoughts for the day, 23 August: weddings, semi colons and pirates

August 23, 2010

I’ve been thoroughly immersed in homework and trying to maintain a house lately (all those fun motherly things that arise when the family is ill). So much has happened recently that I think my brain has been overloaded.

Things that I’ve been thinking about include:

  • Why isn’t the semi colon key on my PC work as well as normal? It feels a little gritty (just thought of this one right now).
  • Why do I find weddings so emotionally distressing? Don’t get me wrong, on a philosophical, moral and religious sense, I am for weddings. From a sociological sense, I am for traditional rituals as important and significant means of signifying life stages and transformations, marking the movement of time and age. (It probably, dare I admit it, comes down to plain jealousy. I feel so darn insecure when I attend other people’s weddings. It makes me feel like my own wedding was a failure.* I think of all the little details I wish I had paid attention to. Okay, okay – it was heading on for 9 years ago now. Time to get over it, right?)
  • I am studying environmentalism, vegetarianism, food and nutrition sociology and animal rights at the moment. I have lost count of the times I’ve said (as I read the material before me), “I am soooo glad I don’t eat meat.” Purely on the gross-out level. That alone is enough!
  • How will I best go about marking International Talk Like a Pirate Day? [19 September.]
  • I love postgraduate student benefits at uni – like the right to borrow more books. Woo hoo! I have only just reached the conclusion that it is entirely feasible for me to visit one of the nearby campuses of my uni (my home campus is almost 2 hours away) to borrow books. Goody!
  • Spring is in the air. Birds are singing and fruit trees are starting to blossom. Everything smells like wattle flowers. (Sneeze!)

=

*My marriage, on the other hand, is not a failure. It’s more like a success-against-difficult-odds testimony. As the marriage is clearly more important than the wedding itself, I guess I should celebrate this.

3 comments

  1. […] Thoughts for the day, 23 August: weddings, semi colons and pirates … […]


  2. ‘I feel so darn insecure when I attend other people’s weddings. It makes me feel like my own wedding was a failure.* I think of all the little details I wish I had paid attention to. Okay, okay – it was heading on for 9 years ago now. Time to get over it, right?)’

    I was in one wedding so extravagant that dancers were brought in to represent the various ethnic backgrounds of the bride and groom.

    All the best with studies.


  3. WOW!

    Now that is extravagant! I have been to some interesting weddings. One was a 10-course Chinese banquet – that certainly stood out for me. The bride changed outfits at least twice during the course of the night.

    Thanks – study coming out of my ears at the moment!



Leave a Reply

